Chat T Sports

Chat T Sports is a comprehensive sports news website that provides the latest and most accurate updates on all major sports events around the world. From football to basketball, cricket to tennis, and everything in between, Chat T Sports covers it all.
Learn More
Latest Tweets

Glory Night for Connor McDavid at NHL Awards 2023

Connor McDavid of Edmonton Oilers

Edmonton Oilers star Connor McDavid cemented his position as NHL’s MVP at the NHL Awards this week, picking up the Hart Memorial Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award. Other winners on the night included Erik Karlsson from San Jose Sharks and Linus Ullmark from Boston Bruins.

But there was no doubt who the big winner was, with McDavid picking up his third Hart Memorial Trophy, drawing him level with legends like Mario Lemieux and Bobby Orr, even if he still has some way to go to catch up with Wayne Gretzky’s record of nine trophies (eight of which were won for the Oilers).

It’s a fitting end to a spectacular season for McDavid, which saw him score 153 points, the 15th-highest tally ever, behind Gretzky, Lemieux and Steve Yzerman. He also helped drive the NHL’s best power play and logged more ice time than any other forward. 

Becoming the third player to win the Ted Lindsay Award more than three times – alongside Lemieux on four and one behind Gretzky – was another boost for McDavid who has the chance to go on and set a new record for most wins. 

Having already won the Art Ross Trophy as NHL scoring champion and the Rocket Richard Trophy for goal-scoring champion, McDavid will need plenty of room on his mantlepiece this summer.

There was another returning winner in the James Norris Memorial Trophy, which was picked up by Erik Karlsson for his work with the San Jose Sharks, having won it twice with the Ottowa Senators.

Karlsson managed 101 points, the first defenceman since Brian Leetch more than 30 years ago to manage triple digits and the ninth to win the Norris Trophy at least three times.

The Vezina Trophy meanwhile went to Linus Ullmark of the Boston Bruins with a goals-against average of just 1.89 and a save percentage of 0.938 putting him well ahead of the competition. This was his first Vezina win at the age of 29 in his first season where he’s started more than half the games. He’s also the sixth first-time winner in a row.

The Bruins picked up another first-time win in the Jack Adams Award, which went to head coach Jim Montgomery after a successful first season in Boston where his team managed a record 65 wins and 135 points, as well most goals for and least goals against.

The Frank J. Selke Trophy was retained by 2021-22 winner Patrice Bergeron of the Bruins, who is now well out in front of the pack with six wins (more than twice the previous record, held by Pavel Datsyuk). He may be 37 years-old, but Bergeron’s defensive work still put him clear of the competition with an on-ice goals allowed per 60 minutes of just 1.7.

This year’s top rookie, Matty Beniers of Seattle Kraken, won the Calder Memorial Trophy thanks to a goal total of 24 and 57 points. The Kraken’s first-ever NHL Draft pick certainly repaid their faith with his debut season and now has silverware to show for it.

Other trophies awarded on the night included Anze Kopitar of Los Angeles Kings winning the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, while Kris Letang of Pittsburgh Penguins took home the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy after a season hit by health issues and family tragedy.

Steven Stamkos from Tampa Bay Lightning won the Mark Messier Leadership Award while the King Clancy Memorial Trophy went to Mickael Backlund of Calgary Flames.

Written and distributed by Chat T Sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts